New Australian music: triple j’s nominees for the Australian album of 2012

The J Awards celebrate the outstanding music of homegrown Australian artists.


+ Tame Impala – Lonerism

+ Alpine – A Is For Alpine

+ Hermitude – HyperParadise

+ Ball Park Music – Museum

+ The Rubens – The Rubens

+ Bertie Blackman – Pope Innocent X

+ Regular John – Regular John

+ Oh Mercy – Deep Heat

+ Urthboy – Smokey’s Haunt

+ The Presets – Pacifica

+ Sarah Blasko – I Awake

+ Parkway Drive – Atlas

I’ve heard something from just about all of these as a result of my heavy reliance on triple j and fbi radio. Tame Impala, The Rubens, and Oh Mercy are my faves at this stage, but I should give some of the others a better listen. Except Parkway Drive, they’re terrible.